The Norman Transcript

October 11, 2012

Firehouse Arts Center among Oklahoma Arts Council 2012 Award winners

Transcript Staff
The Norman Transcript

NORMAN — The Oklahoma Arts Council on Thursday announced the names of eleven individuals and eight organizations that will be honored for their contributions to the arts during the 37th Annual Governor’s Arts Awards.

Norman’s Firehouse Arts Center was named one of three Arts in Education Award winners. The honors will be awarded by Governor Mary Fallin on Thursday, November 8 during a special ceremony at the Oklahoma state Capitol. The ceremony will begin at 4 p.m. in the 4th Floor Rotunda. A reception on the Capitol's first floor will follow. The event is free and open to the public.

Oklahoma Arts Council Executive Director Kim Baker said the awards bring recognition to individuals and organizations making a difference in communities throughout the state. "Each year we hear new stories of Oklahomans going above and beyond to enrich their communities using the arts. In communities like Arnett and Mangum, and in cities like Broken Arrow and Edmond, there are passionate people and community-focused organizations that deserve this recognition."

Governor’s Arts Awards recipients are selected from submitted nominations by members of the Governor’s Arts Awards Selection Committee. This year’s honorees include:

The Governor's Award recognizes longtime leadership and significant contributions to the arts. Honorees are:

Dr. Don Betz, Edmond

Christian Keesee, Oklahoma City

Charles Ward, Tulsa

The Business in the Arts Award recognizes individuals, businesses and corporations that exhibit outstanding support of the arts in Oklahoma. The honoree is:

AVB Bank, Broken Arrow

The Media in the Arts Award is given to an individual member of the media or media outlet that demonstrates commitment to the arts in Oklahoma documented through public awareness, support, fairness, initiative, creativity and professionalism in reporting. Honorees are:

KOSU Radio, Stillwater

OKIE Magazine, Lawton

RSU Public TV, Claremore

The Arts in Education Award recognizes an individual, organization, school, educator or group for their outstanding leadership and service in the arts benefitting youth and/or arts in education. Honorees are:

Choregus Productions, Tulsa

Firehouse Arts Center, Norman

Oklahoma City Philharmonic, Oklahoma City

The Community Service Award recognizes individuals for significant contributions to the arts in specific Oklahoma communities in the areas of leadership and volunteerism. Honorees are:

Dr. Bob Palmer, Bethany

Dolores McClure, Enid

Laurie Thompson, Mangum

Mary Bryant, Arnett

Nancy Harris, Arnett

Marlene Woods, Arnett

Philbrook Museum of Art, Tulsa

George Nigh Public Service in the Arts Award recognizes an Oklahoma government official or entity for outstanding support of the arts. The honoree is:

Mayor Bill Shewey, Enid

A Special Recognition Award recognizes an individual or organization that has made a unique contribution in support of the arts. The honoree is:

Mike Larsen, Perkins

For local news and more, subscribe to The Norman Transcript Smart Edition, or our print edition.