The Norman Transcript


December 15, 2012

Sooners give out team awards



Shepard joined the OU roster as a walk-on in 1983 before earning a prominent role as a wide receiver and return man on the Sooners’ 1985 National Championship team. Shepard passed away at the age of 35 in 1999 after suffering a heart attack.

Here’s a complete of the individual award winners:

· Bob Kalsu Award: Landry Jones

· Don Key Award: David King

· Derrick Shepard Most Inspirational Walk-On Player of the Year Award: Aaron Ripkowski

· Special Teams Players of the Year: Jaydan Bird, Justin Brown, Brennan Clay, Roy Finch, Michael Hunnicutt, Trey Millard, Jalen Saunders, Tress Way

· Scout Team Players of the Year: Offense — Trevor Knight, Derrick Woods; Defense — David Driskill, Caleb Gastelum

For local news and more, subscribe to The Norman Transcript Smart Edition, or our print edition.

Text Only | Photo Reprints