The Norman Transcript


January 15, 2013

Two file for mayor

Rosenthal declared but hasn't filed

NORMAN — Two candidates have filed to run for mayor in the city of Norman. Candidates are Thomas E. Sherman, 67, 2811 Majesty Court, and David Kempf, 51, 317 Towry Drive.

Mayor Cindy Rosenthal has said she will run again but has not filed as of this time. Filing is open through Wednesday at 5 p.m.

Seven city council candidates filed Monday at the Cleveland County Election Board, 641 E. Robinson St. Filing is conducted during regular Election Board Office hours, 8 a.m. to 5 p.m.

Filing for Ward 1 are Greg Heiple, 48, 1021 Laird’s Wood Circle, and Roger Gallagher, 72, 1522 E. Boyd St.

In Ward 3, incumbent Robert M. Castleberry, 48, 4701 Windrush Circle, is the only candidate thus far.

In Ward 5, Lynne Miller, 67, 801 48th Ave. SE, and Dave Spaulding, 38, 6700 NE 103rd Ave., have filed.

Filing for Ward 7 are Linda Lockett, 74, 910 Elm Ave., and Stephen Tyler Holman, 28, 1030 S. College Ave.

The filing ends at 5 p.m. Wednesday for Ward 1, 3, 5 and 7 and the mayor’s position.

The filing fee is $50 for city council and $75 for mayor. The filing fee must be in the form of a cashier’s or certified check and must be made out to the “Secretary, Cleveland County Election Board.”

Candidates filing for office must complete a Declaration of Candidacy, which is available for download on the Election Board website, Forms also are available at the Election Board office. This form must be notarized, and the Election Board cannot notarize candidate filing papers.

Because Norman City Council elections are non-partisan, when completing the Declaration of Candidacy form, all candidates should leave their political party blank.

Text Only | Photo Reprints