The Norman Transcript


April 17, 2014

Record number of NPS students selected for Duke program

NORMAN — A record number of Norman Public Schools seventh-graders have been selected for Duke University’s Talent Identification Search for State and National Recognition.

Fifty-one students were identified via a competitive testing process for 2014 State Recognition. Four of those students also are being honored with National Recognition.

Students are pre-selected to compete for Duke TIP based on whether they scored at or above the 95th percentile on grade-level achievement tests or other approved tests.

This year, 93 NPS students were pre-selected based on those prerequisites. Then, those students took the ACT or the SAT college-entrance exam. Of the 93, NPS seventh-graders who scored at or above the average on the ACT or SAT of all high school juniors and seniors across the nation were tapped by Duke for State Recognition; those who scored at or above 90 percent of all juniors and seniors across the nation were tapped by Duke for National Recognition.

State Recognition honorees will be recognized in ceremonies in Tulsa next month. National Recognition honorees have been invited to attend a Grand Recognition Ceremony at Duke University in North Carolina later this spring.

NPS Duke TIP honorees include:

National Recognition

· Alcott Middle School: Pranav Jayachand

· Irving Middle School: Michael Hwang

· Whittier Middle School: Kassidy Long, Benjamin Xia

State Recognition

· Alcott Middle School: Mira Alpers, Theodore Cohen, Pranav Jayachand, Robert Kemmet, Mohan Richter-Addo, David Shafer-Ray, Travis Williams

· Irving Middle School: Promiti Debi, Michael Hwang, Fardaan Jamil, Lauren Mudd, Samuel Wishon, Christie Yang

· Longfellow Middle School: Nicholi Bacher, Jordan Bushore, Madeline Childers, Maeve Emery, Ethan Geiger, Heather Hayes, Kaelea Jennings, Alexander McBreen, Brooks Smith

· Whittier Middle School: Willow Arana, Jessica Arlington, Tristan Breath, Katherine Carbonell, Zachary Cole, Kristin Dong, Elizabeth Duncan, Karina Feng, Ainslee Gabriel, Wade Hennessey, Jared Kepner, Claire Keupen, Chad Kuwitzky, Sidharth Lakshmanan, Kassidy Long, Dat Lu, Pacey Mills, Wyatt Mills, Erin Murphy, Colleen Ozment, Joshua A Robinson, Kalen Sixkiller, Austin Sonne, Ashlea Stewart, Elizabeth Sun, Alexandria Thomas, Thomas Wilkinson, James Wolfinbarger, Benjamin Xia

Breaking news, severe weather alerts, AMBER alerts, sports scores from The Norman Transcript are available as text messages right to your phone or mobile device. You decide which type of alerts you want to receive. Find out more or to signup, click here.

Text Only | Photo Reprints