The Norman Transcript


May 7, 2014

Norman athletes cheered on in pep rally ahead of Special Olympics

NORMAN — Cheering and applause were heard nonstop during a pep assembly honoring Special Olympics athletes Tuesday at Norman High School. Special Olympics athletes numbering in the thousands will meet May 14-16 in Stillwater to celebrate the 45th annual Summer Games hosted in Oklahoma.

The pep assembly was emceed by Norman High football players and seniors Anthony Grimes and Cade Parker.

Dawn Brockman’s, student congress advisor, leadership classes put together the assembly and made posters for each athlete, which decorated the gym walls. The Norman High Step Team performed, and Justin Milner, director of special services, addressed athletes and parents.

“The leadership class did a great job putting this together, and we’re so grateful to have the support of coaches, volunteers and parents,” Milner said. “Also, I want to acknowledge Kelly Collier, who did a lot of fundraising that developed into a trust, and today that helps us pay for T-shirts and track suits for the athletes.”

Each athlete introduced themselves and announced which sport(s) he or she would compete in.

The following athletes will compete at the Summer Games:

· Eisenhower Elementary — Blake Duren, Jake Dulworth, Preston Ramirez, Isaiah Laney, Keaton Timmons, Mia Green, Mary Serrano, Sierra Theiss-Groff

· Longfellow Middle School — Max Marsee, Isaiah Breshears, Brittany Kilmer, Chris Norwood, Joey Arnold, Bridget Glynn, Aaron Cherry, Bryan Morrow, Arie Appleby, Dokota Bumgarner, Arry’onna Brumit, Aedrianna Davis, Samantha Doshier, Jenn Gibson, Matt Herrera, Wes Hutchinson, Devan Kennedy, Brandon Kilmer, Bailey Mayfield, Landon Mayhue, Shane McDaniel, Michael Moore, Denise Morrow, Matthew Underwood, Kelli Thicksten

· Alcott Middle School — Hannah Collyar, Brittany Cook, Graeme Elliot-Hulsey, Jackson Cross, Ray Manning, Erin Swiderski, Kayla Shea, Alex Ridner

· Norman North High School — Missy Arnold, Tami Blackford, Blake Boyer, Connor Bruce, Kurt Calabrese, Alex Cruse, Natalia Dihrberg, Katisha King, Mark McBride, Kate Shaw, Connor Stout, Jacob Swehla, Parker Timmie, Jacob Veirs, Zach Wilbanks, John Williamson, Jessica Wimberly, Paul Woody

Text Only | Photo Reprints