The Norman Transcript

May 13, 2014

MNTC students awarded Jamie M. Rogers Memorial Scholarship

Transcript Staff
The Norman Transcript

NORMAN — Two students from Moore Norman Technology Center’s Surgical Technology class were recently presented with the Jamie M. Rogers Memorial Scholarship.

Mollie Frantz and Teele Kopli each received $500 through the scholarships, which may be used at their discretion. Mike and Nancy Rogers, Jamie’s parents, presented the awards.

Rogers, a 1997 graduate of Norman High School, attended MNTC’s second surgical technology class and graduated in 2000.

After receiving her diploma in surgical technology, she began working in the surgery department at Integris Southwest Medical Center, where she remained until taking a position in surgery at Dean McGee Eye Institute.

Rogers lost her battle with cancer in September 2012. The scholarships have been made possible through the efforts of the family and Rogers’ friends.

Criteria for earning the scholarship are maintaining a high grade point average, writing an essay outlining present and future goals in surgery and health care and providing preceptor evaluations. Candidates also must demonstrate good work ethics by presenting case logs and good attendance records.

Applications are reviewed by the scholarship panel, and yearly awards are presented on or close to April 7, Rogers’ birthday.

After graduation, Frantz will begin her career as a certified surgical technologist at the Oklahoma Center for Orthopedic and Multi-Specialty Surgery Hospital and plans to continue her education toward a medical degree.

Kopli will enter the profession as a certified surgical technologist at Brook’s Surgical Arts Clinic, working with oral and maxillofacial surgeon Perry Brooks.

For more informaiton, visit or call 364-5763.

Breaking news, severe weather alerts, AMBER alerts, sports scores from The Norman Transcript are available as text messages right to your phone or mobile device. You decide which type of alerts you want to receive. Find out more or to signup, click here.