The Norman Transcript

January 30, 2014

NPS tops other state schools, districts in number of Scholars candidates

Transcript Staff
The Norman Transcript

NORMAN — Norman Public Schools learned this week that it leads all other Oklahoma school districts, private schools and the Oklahoma School for Mathematics and Science in the number of 2014 U.S. Presidential Scholars Program candidates it has in its class of 2014.

The national recognition program was established in 1964 by executive order of the president to recognize and honor the nation’s most distinguished high school seniors. Annually, up to 141 students are named as Presidential Scholars.

The 2014 candidates are posted by state and town of residence at the U.S. Department of Education’s website.

The candidates named by the USDE who attend Norman High or Norman North are:

· Norman High School: Christopher M. Brooks, Reed T. Shafer Ray

· Norman North High School: William Long, Ohvia Muraleetharan, Madison L. Robertson, Lucas V. Schuermann, Spencer T. Yue, Norman North High School

“I know I speak for Principal Scott Beck and Principal Bryan Young when I say how very proud we are of these young people,” NPS Superintendent Dr. Joe Siano said. “These seniors have more than earned this honor for themselves, and they have distinguished their families, their teachers, this school district and this community in the process.”

Breaking news, severe weather alerts, AMBER alerts, sports scores from The Norman Transcript are available as text messages right to your phone or mobile device. You decide which type of alerts you want to receive. Find out more or to signup, click here.