The Norman Transcript

August 13, 2013

Commissioners recognize employees for safety

Transcript Staff
The Norman Transcript

NORMAN — Cleveland County commissioners recognized 30 county employees for their workplace safety. 

An employee is eligible at five years of service without a workplace injury that did not result in loss in time. The safety awards are awarded and funded through the Oklahoma County Commissioners Association’s Self Insurance Group/Self Insurance Fund.

Cleveland County was one of the highest in recipients among other participating counties.

“These awards mean real dollar savings to the county. Workers’ Compensation Insurance is a great cost to public and private business alike. I am proud of Cleveland County employees for being conscious of their safety and for fellow employees,” Commissioner Rod Cleveland said. Cleveland is a board member of the Oklahoma County Commissioner Association Self Insurance Group/Self Insurance Fund.

Employees are split into two categories: office/clerical and law enforcement/road crews. 

Employees with five, 10, 15 and 20 years of service receive a $20 gift card. Employees with 20 years or greater receive a Safety First jacket. 

The following is a list of safety award recipients:

· Five years: Fredrick Barnell, Kevin Brandon, Mark Bugher, Richey Fink, Anthony Henthorn, Joseph Inman, Jonathan Leach, Terry McCracken, Earnest McGee, Brandon Miller, William Thomas, Richard Young

· 10 years: Patty Cox, Lori Kelleher, Teri Morrow, Denise Mullins, Michelle Newberg, Tomi Walden

· 15 years: Robin Clifford, Jennifer Frank, Donna Morgan

· 20 years: Denise Ellison, Marianne Kennedy

· 25 years: Jannis Allen, Alma Berger, Cheryl Pack, Billijo Ragland, Sam Woodfork

· 30 years: Gary Jester, Melanie Wilke