The Norman Transcript

May 5, 2013

Transcript staff members take 6 top prizes in contest

Transcript Staff
The Norman Transcript

NORMAN — Members of The Norman Transcript staff placed first in six categories in the Associated Press One contest.

They also swept Page 1 deadline layout in their corresponding division. Winners were announced Saturday in Norman.

Senior staff writer Joy Hampton also won the Sweepstakes Award in Writing for her wildfire coverage.

This is the second year in a row that a Transcript staff member has won Sweepstakes in writing. Sports Editor Clay Horning received the award last year.

Staff members who placed include:

· Joy Hampton:

First — Investigative reporting: Bar zoning rejected; Business feature: Sugar, spice and everything nice; Spot news: Wildfires devastate area

Second — Business Spot News Reporting: Big Game, Big Business

Third — General News: Transportation bond series

· Shana Adkisson:

First — Feature: A memento worth saving

· Beau Simmons:

First — Page 1 deadline layout, Headlines

· Deb Parker:

Second — General News: Finally at rest; Pilot repatriated

Third — Page 1 deadline layout

· Mack Burke:

Second — Page 1 deadline layout

· Jamie Berry:

Third — Headlines

· Kyle Phillips:

Second — Sports Photo: Softball

· Clay Horning:

Third — Spot Sports Reporting: Champions

· John Shinn:

Third — Sports Feature: Motivator

· The Norman Transcript staff: General Excellence

The contest had 27 categories.