The Norman Transcript


April 30, 2011

OU dean to serve as provost of Health Sciences Center

NORMAN — Dr. Dewayne Andrews, University of Oklahoma Health Sciences Center teacher and physician, will become provost and senior vice president of the OU Health Sciences Center, effective July 1, subject to approval of the OU Board of Regents at its May meeting, OU President David L. Boren announced Friday.

According to a news release, Andrews currently serves as executive dean of the OU College of Medicine and vice president for Health Affairs.

He will succeed Joe Ferretti as provost of the OU Health Sciences Center, the release states. 

Andrews will serve not only as provost and senior vice president, but he will also continue in his current role as executive dean of the OU College of Medicine, OU President David Boren said in the release.

Andrews is a David Ross Boyd Professor of Medicine and holds the Lawrence N. Upjohn Chair in Medicine.  He earned his medical degree in 1970 from the OU College of Medicine and completed his postdoctoral training at the Johns Hopkins Hospital and OU Health Sciences Center. He joined the faculty at the OU College of Medicine in 1977 as assistant professor, earning promotions to associate professor, before becoming professor of medicine in 1988.

At OU, Andrews has held a variety of leadership positions, serving most recently as vice president for Health Affairs and executive dean of the OU College of Medicine since 2002. 

He is the recipient of numerous awards, including twice being honored with the Aesculapian Award for Excellence in Teaching. He also has been recognized with the Regents’ Award for Superior Professional and University Service and OU’s Outstanding Medicine Faculty Award. He was named Physician of the Year-Academic Medicine by the OU College of Medicine Alumni Association in 1995 and was honored with being named a Master of the American College of Physicians in 2004. 

Active in numerous professional societies and organizations, Andrews has served as governor of the Oklahoma chapter of the American College of Physicians, as chairman for the National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants, and chairman of the Section on Medical Schools of the American Medical Association.  He serves as a member of the Liaison Committee on Medical Education, which is the accrediting body for U.S. medical schools.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
  • Coaches Luncheon Mixon question off-limits at coaches luncheon

    Toby Rowland addressed the elephant in the room even before Oklahoma football coach Bob Stoops, defensive coordinator Mike Stoops and offensive coordinator Josh Heupel arrived Wednesday at Journey Church....

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • Mixon will not participate in practice

    Preseason practice begins for Oklahoma today. Freshman running back Joe Mixon will not be there. The school announced the decision Wednesday night....

    July 31, 2014

  • Nova Pettigrew Music community bands together to raise money for 2-year-old’s battle with rare form of cancer

    Two-year old Nova Pettigrew was diagnosed with a rare form of cancer six weeks ago. Her father, former Deli sound technician and musician James Pettigrew, noticed something was wrong when running turned to walking, then limping, then ...

    July 31, 2014 1 Photo

  • Deputies cleared, return to work

    Two deputies involved in a deadly shooting earlier this month are expected to return to work today after being cleared by the Cleveland County District Attorney’s Office. “They (the Sheriff’s Office) gave me their investigation, I ...

    July 31, 2014

  • Sales tax-free weekend set to begin this weekend

    When stores open Friday morning, shoppers may be waiting. Oklahoma’s annual sales tax holiday is slated to run this weekend with the special exemption beginning at 12:01 a.m. on Friday and ending at midnight on Sunday....

    July 31, 2014

  • India landslide kills 21

    NEW DELHI — Rescuers worked in rain today to dig through a remote village in western India where at least 21 people died as a landslide swept away scores of houses, possibly trapping many more people under debris, officials said....

    July 31, 2014

  • Israeli strike hits UN school

    GAZA CITY, Gaza Strip — Israeli artillery shells tore through the walls of a U.N. school crowded with sleeping war refugees and back-to-back explosions rocked a market filled with shoppers Wednesday as Israel’s stepped up campaign against ...

    July 31, 2014

  • Busted water main dumps 20 million gallons of water into UCLA’s Pauley Pavilion and adjacent garage

    LOS ANGELES — The rupture of a nearly century-old water main that ripped a 15-foot hole through Sunset Boulevard and turned a swath of the University of California, Los Angeles into a mucky mess points to the risks and expense many cities ...

    July 31, 2014

  • GOP-led House gives go-ahead for suit

    WASHINGTON — A sharply divided House approved a Republican plan Wednesday to launch a campaign-season lawsuit against President Barack Obama, accusing him of exceeding the bounds of his constitutional authority. Just a day before ...

    July 31, 2014

  • Felonies filed

    The following people were charged with felony counts in the Cleveland County Court Clerk’s Office: · Randall Lee Sherrill, 34, possession of juvenile pornography · Dewey Leon Kinsey, 37, possession of controlled dangerous ...

    July 31, 2014