The Norman Transcript


December 7, 2012

School district races shape up

NORMAN — Norman school district voters will choose between two longtime residents for a seat on the board this spring.

Gary L. Barksdale, 512 Mimosa, and Cindy K. Nashert, 1101 Rockland Ridge, will be on the Feb. 12 ballot. They are seeking to replace Darry Stacy, who will leave the board in January when he is sworn in as Cleveland County District 2 commissioner.

Board members decided not to fill Stacy’s seat for the six-week period and wait for the Feb. 12 election. Filing for area board seats closed Wednesday.

Two candidates also have filed for the Moore-Norman Technology Center office. Andy Sherrer, 120 Merkle Drive in Norman, and Tammy Maus, 4801 W. Two Lakes Ave., filed for the Office No. 3 post. Member Doris Wedge has chosen not to seek re-election.

In Moore, Michael Wright, 1317 Northridge Road in Moore, filed for Moore School District Office No. 3. Tonya Adams, 501 SE 7th in Lexington, filed for Lexington Office No. 3, and Cherish R. Smith, 6200 E. Tecumseh Road, filed for the Robin Hill School District Office No. 3.

Ron Palmer, 1200 Donray Circle, filed for the Office No. 3 for Little Axe Schools. Tony S. Gibson, 6851 132nd Street SE, filed for the Noble Office No. 3.

For local news and more, subscribe to The Norman Transcript Smart Edition, or our print edition.

Text Only | Photo Reprints