The Norman Transcript

November 23, 2013

Norman Public Schools announces Teachers of the Year

The Norman Transcript

NORMAN — Twenty-four teachers in Norman Public Schools have been named as their school’s Teacher of the Year for 2013-14.

The teachers include: Beth York: Adams; Cari Horton: Cleveland; Angie Estes: Eisenhower; Jenny Pratt: Jackson; Catherine Miller: Jefferson; Stacy Ford: Kennedy; Martha Williams: Lakeview; Danielle Eikel: Lincoln; Zuki Flores: Madison; Kathy Rutherford: McKinley; Carla Kampert: Monroe; Stephanie Lowery: Reagan; Michelle Parker: Roosevelt; Lindsay Alca: Truman; Amy Carruth: Truman Primary; Macey Morgan: Washington; Kim Anders: Wilson; Jon Robinson: Alcott; Shawn McGlone: Irving; Beth Huddleston: Longfellow; Adrienne Hall: Whittier; Scott Olsen: Dimensions; Bo Maynes: Norman High; and  Robert King: Norman North

NPS Superintendent Dr. Joe Siano congratulated the 24 honorees and said, “as in previous years, it is going to be difficult to choose finalists and, ultimately, a district Teacher of the Year from such a distinguished group of educators. They are exemplary representatives of the dedicated, talented faculty we are fortunate to have working in the Norman Public Schools.”

The process now turns to the NPS Staff Development Committee interviewing the 24 honorees in February for the purposes of identifying finalists for the district’s top teaching honor. As part of the interviewing effort, the finalists will submit mini-portfolios to the committee that will include a resume, teaching philosophy statement, a 3-5 minute video of their classroom instruction and other information.

“This is one of the most enjoyable, yet challenging, annual efforts coordinated through my office,” Beth Spears, NPS director of staff development and student achievement, said. “We are so excited by the wealth of talent we see in this group of master teachers. As Dr. Siano said, it is going to be difficult to choose finalists and a district winner among these fine educators.”

Finalists will be chosen and announced in February and the NPS 2014 Teacher of the Year will be announced April 22, 2014, at the district’s annual Celebration of Excellence banquet. The district winner represents NPS in the state competition, which is an affiliate of the Council of Chief State School Officers’ national Teacher of the Year program.