The Norman Transcript

N-town reviews

May 10, 2013

Book review: Death Comes to Pemberly falls short

NORMAN — Book: Death Comes to Pemberly (2012, Vintage, reprint edition)

Author: P.D. James

Why you should read: The work of Jane Austen’s “Pride and Prejudice” has been taken and reconstructed countless times over the years. Her beloved characters have been re-created in varying styles, with sequels focusing on the love of Elizabeth Bennet and Mr. Darcy after their marriage, and have even been thrown into the spotlight in the form of zombies. But there is one such genre I never thought I would see crossed with an Austen story: mystery. Known as one of the greatest British crime fiction authors, P.D. James has weaved a familiar tale in to a story of crime and mystery.

Set in 1803, “Pemberly” picks up six years after the marriage of Elizabeth and Darcy. Readers of Austen’s work will see familiar faces such as Mr. and Mrs. Darcy, the ever-irritating sister Lydia and her husband, Mr. Wickham, and many others. On the eve of the annual autumn ball, Lydia arrives screaming that her husband, who has been denied access to the property, has been murdered. A search for Wickham ensues, and he is found in the nearby woods alive. The body of his friend Captain Denny, however, lies dead beside him. Wickham’s drunken mumbling and suspicious bloodstains leave the search group speechless. From there, the story moves on in an attempt to solve the crime. Sadly, despite the unique attempt to re-invent Austen’s characters, the story falls flat.

As a whole, the book is an interesting idea, but comes short of any real accomplishments and the characters aren’t quite as familiar as they should be. While it was nice to see a new take on a classic, and James’ writing is elegant and clear, there was no real pull from the story. And with its simplistic nature, the mystery and reason for the story, is meek at best. Fans of Austen and James might be thrilled to read another spin of Austen’s famous work, but those looking for an actual mystery would be wise to seek out a story better-suited to the genre.

1
Text Only | Photo Reprints
N-town reviews
  • Book review: Kidd delivers thought-provoking novel on slavery

    by Amber Hodge Book: The Invention of Wings (2014, Viking) Author: Sue Monk Kidd Why you should read: Kidd might be known for her worldwide hit “The Secret Life of Bees,” which released in 2002 and spent more than two years on the NY Times ...

    April 11, 2014

  • Book review: Philomena a sad, worthwhile read

    by Amber Hodge Book: The Lost Child of Philomena Lee (2009, Macmillan) Author: Martin Sixsmith Why you should read: Originally published in 2009, “Philomena” tells the true story of Michael Hess, who was a lawyer, and later deputy chief ...

    April 11, 2014

  • Music review: Johnny Drummer brings spark, swagger

    Musician: Johnny Drummer Album name: Bad Attitude Why you should listen: It’s probably reason enough to spin this record that producer Michael Frank wrote a thousand word introduction for the liner notes. The man who founded Earwig Music ...

    April 11, 2014

  • Music review: Helen Kelter Skelter offers psychedelic gem

    Musician: Helen Kelter Skelter Album name: Self-titled Why you should listen: Helen Kelter Skelter is a Norman band comprised of Eli Wimmer, Cody Clifton, Nathan Harwell, Jay Jamison and Tim Gregory. Their band’s name is a tongue twisting ...

    April 11, 2014

  • Book review: Anna Quindlen creates poetic narrative in Still Life with Bread Crumbs

    Book: Still Life with Bread Crumbs (2014, Random House) Author: Anna Quindlen Why you should read: It’s hard to find authors who have the kind of talent that brings life to inanimate objects. Fortunately, Anna Quindlen is one such writer ...

    March 14, 2014

  • Book review: Under the Never Sky a clever sci-fi

    Book: Under the Never Sky (2012, HarperCollins) Author: Veronica Rossi Why you should read: “Under the Never Sky” is a clever young adult novel built around a distopian future akin to “The Hunger Games” or the “Divergent” series....

    March 14, 2014

  • Music review: Goodnight Moonshine offers fresh sound

    Musician: Molly Venter and Eben Pariser Album name: Goodnight Moonshine Why you should listen: It’s the rare 21st century professional musician who has just one project. Molly Venter and Eben Pariser are no exceptions. Venter played here ...

    March 14, 2014

  • Music review: Eddie Ate Dynamite is explosive, twisted listen

    Musician: Jason Vivone and the Billy Bats Album name: Eddie Ate Dynamite Why you should listen: All you have to do is glance at this album’s cover art to know it’s going to be a twisted listen. A stick of high explosive in a hot dog bun on ...

    March 14, 2014

  • Book review: Rainbow Rowell paints perfect love story

    Book: Eleanor & Park (2013, St. Martin’s Press) Author: Rainbow Rowell Why you should read: After 11 weeks of gracing the NY Times Best Seller list for young adult novels, “Eleanor & Park” currently rests at No. 8 on the charts. With its ...

    February 14, 2014

  • Book review: JJ Abrams creates literary masterpiece

    Book: S. (2013, Little, Brown & Company) Authors: J.J. Abrams and Doug Dorst Why you should read: Created from the mind of J.J. Abrams, producer of hit films and television shows such as “Lost,” “Star Trek Into Darkness” and “Mission: ...

    February 14, 2014