The Norman Transcript

July 3, 2013

Welcome, new members

The Norman Transcript

NORMAN — On Tuesday, the Norman City Council officially welcomed three new members — Ward 1 Greg Heiple, Ward 5 Lynne Miller and Ward 7 Stephen Tyler Holman. They now occupy the seats previously had by Roger Gallagher, Dave Spaulding and Linda Lockett.

First, to Mr. Gallagher, Mr. Spaulding and Ms. Lockett, thank you for your service to Norman.

To Mr. Heiple, Ms. Miller and Mr. Holman, we offer you our best wishes and encouragement for a successful term. It’s not easy to cast your private life into the public forum, and we applaud you for taking that step to serve Norman and its residents.

We believe Norman is on a positive course, and with strong leadership, the city will continue on this path. To ensure this progressive path, it will take your leadership and that of your fellow council members, Tom Kovach, Robert Castleberry, Greg Jungman, Jim Griffith and Chad Williams and Mayor Cindy Rosenthal.

There will be tough questions to be answered and issues to be resolved during your tenure — the topics of water, land use and transportation — that will get your attention in the months ahead.

There will be times to agree and disagree, and no matter what side of an issue you find yourself on, you should always remember to respect your fellow council member and those you serve.

There will be good and bad times, challenges and triumphs ahead, but such is the life of a public office holder, whether at the city, state or national level.

As you move forward during your first term in office, we ask that you remember to put the best interests of your ward’s residents, as well as those residents across Norman, at the forefront when making decisions. If you successfully achieve this task, we believe you should do well.