The Norman Transcript

OU Sports

November 9, 2013

Maple stumbles as Sooners win in N.Y.

BROCKPORT, N.Y. — Oklahoma did what it was supposed to do Saturday at the Brockport Classic, winning its 15th consecutive tourney championship in upstate New York.

The Sooners racked up 168 points to outdistance No. 17 Bloomsburg (133), Army (101), Buffalo (95.5), American (91) and Brockport (31.5).

Also, perhaps, in no great surprise, the Sooners claimed six individual crowns and three runners-up finishes. Yet, one surprise was who one of those runners-up happened to be.

Kendric Maple, the reigning 141-pound NCAA champion, fell for the second time this season at his new 149-pound weight, falling 5-3 in overtime to Bloomsburg’s Bryce Busler, who later received the outstanding wrestler award for the tournament.

OU’s champs came at 125, 133, 141, 157, 174 and 197 pounds.

Jarrod Patterson claimed the 125-pound title with a 5-3 decision over American’s David Terao.

With a 15-8 decision, Cody Brewer took the 133 crown over Bloomsburg’s Nick Wilcox. Prior to the finals, Brewer recorded three technical fall victories.

Nick Lester won at 141 by decision over Nick Flannery of Buffalo, 12-6. Lester secured two technical falls on the way to the final.

Brad DeAngelis finished at the top of at 157 with a 10-8 decision over Army’s Paul Hancock. DeAngelis recorded a pair of pins on the way the final.

In the 174-pound bracket, Howe won by pinning Army’s Brian Harve.

Travis Rutt won at 197 with an 8-2 decision over Bloomsburg’s Rich Perry. Rutt picked up a technical fall and a pin on his way to the final.

Clark Glass, at 149 pounds, and Ross Larson, at 165,  joined Maple with runner-up finishes.

Breaking news, severe weather alerts, AMBER alerts, sports scores from The Norman Transcript are available as text messages right to your phone or mobile device. You decide which type of alerts you want to receive. Find out more or to signup, click here.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
OU Sports