The Norman Transcript

July 10, 2013

Norman Chamber president appointed to capitol planning commission

Transcript Staff
The Norman Transcript

NORMAN — House Speaker T.W. Shannon today announced his appointments to a commission that will address Capitol repairs and the long-term management of state assets. Those appointments include Norman Chamber of Commerce President and CEO John Woods.

The Long Range Capitol Planning Commission was recreated with a new mission by Shannon’s House Bill 1910, which was signed into law this year. Under the new law, the commission will be responsible for developing a pay-as-you-go plan to repair the Oklahoma State Capitol and an eight-year plan for the management of state assets.

Woods will serve a three-year term on the commission. Prior to joining the Norman Chamber, Woods worked at the Oklahoma House of Representatives.

“John Woods will bring a business and community perspective to the commission,” Shannon said. “He also brings his experience of working with legislative leaders to the commission. I am highly confident in his abilities and judgment.”

Chesapeake Oilfield Services CEO Jerry Winchester will serve a one-year term. As the chief executive of the second-largest producer of U.S. natural gas, he is a good fit for the oversight of state assets, Shannon said.

“Jerry Winchester will bring decades of business experience to the management of state assets and I could not be more pleased to find him willing and ready to serve on the commission,” said Shannon, R-Lawton.

Former Rep. Tad Jones, the current executive director of the Grand Lake Association, will serve a two-year term. Jones served in various leadership roles during his time in the Oklahoma House of Representatives, including the role of majority floor leader.

“Representative Tad Jones was a key figure in the House during his long service to the citizens of Oklahoma and I think his experience in working with state legislators and state agencies will serve the commission well,” Shannon said.

All three appointments will be eligible for reappointment to four-year terms following the completion of their first term.