The Norman Transcript

Local Sports

March 15, 2014

Area players rack up Mid-State postseason honors

NORMAN — With the 2013-14 basketball season coming to a close today, the awards from the regular season are rolling in.

This was the last season area schools will compete under the Mid-State conference umbrella. Next year will mark the first season of the Central Oklahoma Athletic Conference, which will be comprised of schools from Norman, Moore, Edmond, Deer Creek, Stillwater, and Yukon.

Several area athletes were represented in the final year of Mid-State awards. Norman North freshman Trae Young, who started every game for the T-Wolves, won the Newcomer of the Year award, while North’s Marcus Dickinson, Westmoore’s Tripp Fuller and Southmoore’s Justin Bean were named to the first team.

Included on the second team are Norman High’s Cooper Clark, Moore’s Jaylin Wilson and North’s Lindy Waters. Southmoore’s Chelvin Webb was named to the third team, while North’s Payton Prince, Kairo Rutledge and Malcolm Carter received honorable mentions.

T-Wolves finish season 15-1: It wasn’t just Norman North’s varsity that turned in an exemplary season. The freshman, coached by Hayley Scott, finished the year 15-1 and placed third at the Edmond freshman tournament.

Led by Crymson Rose and Kenna Sturgell, who were both named to the all-tournament team, it’s a group that figures to play a key role in North’s varsity in the coming years. The T-Wolves have hosted regionals and made a run to the state quarterfinals in each of the past two seasons.

North filling void left by Snodgrass: The Timberwolves opened their baseball season with a pair of district victories, but North will go the rest of the way without one of its leaders in senior Kallen Snodgrass. The senior suffered a compound fracture in his finger last week, and North coach Brian Aylor is shuffling his lineup to deal with the loss.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
Local Sports