ARLINGTON, Texas —
“It was obvious (Baker) made no intent to get to the bag,” said Rangers manager Ron Washington, who did go out to discuss the call with second base umpire Marty Foster. “He may have done that, but that had no effect on why (Escobar) double- or triple-clutched on the throw.”
That inning-ending play was much different than the game-ending strike in Monday night’s series opener that Texas won 5-4. That game ended with Zobrist batting when Foster was behind home plate and called strike three on a full-count curveball low and outside — a call the ump later admitted he got wrong.