PONTE VEDRA BEACH, Fla. —
Woods conferred with Wittenberg, his playing partner.
“I saw it perfectly off the tee,” Wittenberg said. “I told him exactly where I thought it crossed, and we all agreed. So he’s definitely great on that.”
And if video suggests otherwise?
Decision 26-1/17 says a penalty would not be appropriate because it comes down to an honest judgment.
Of course, this might not be that big of an issue except that Woods in his most recent tournament — the Masters — was guilty of taking an illegal drop on the 15th hole at Augusta National. He eventually was docked two shots, but spared disqualification by the Masters because officials said they erred in not talking to Woods about the drop before he signed his scorecard. The rules back up that decision, though this one (Rule 33-7) is subject to interpretation. It could have gone either way.
Back to Sawgrass, where there was that Saturday incident with Garcia which was one case where Woods shared some responsibility.
The scene on the par-5 second hole was chaotic. Woods was so deep in the trees that it appeared it was his turn to hit. Garcia stood over his second shot for the longest time. There was a burst of cheers when Woods pulled out his 5-wood. Garcia finished his swing and looked over at the crowd, clearly frustrated.
Woods and Garcia don’t like each other and haven’t for the better part of 13 years. That much can be established.
Garcia suggested in a TV interview during the storm delay that Woods pulled the club at just the right time to fire up the crowd and disrupt his swing. Woods said in a TV interview that evening, “The marshals, they told me he already hit, so I pulled a club and was getting ready to play my shot.”