The Norman Transcript

March 7, 2012

OU celebrates Ewing Fellowship Program

For The Transcript
The Norman Transcript

NORMAN — The University of Oklahoma’s Department of Political Science recognized the 2012 recipients of the Cortez A.M. Ewing Public Service Fellowship at a reception Saturday at the home of Rosemary Knapp and Richard Broughton, of OU’s zoology faculty.

The Knapp-Broughton residence on Flood Street is the former home of Cortez Ewing, for whom the fellowship program is named, and his wife, Ina Annette Ewing, a noted artist.

The event also marked the 50th anniversary of the death of Cortez Ewing, who died March 5, 1962. More than three dozen Ewing Fellow alumni were in attendance.

Ewing was a much beloved faculty member in the political science department from 1932 until his death.

After his death, his former students, numbering in the thousands, funded an endowment in his honor. Since 1971, that endowment has funded Ewing Fellowships for more than 200 University of Oklahoma students. Ewing Fellows spend the summer as interns on Capitol Hill or other federal government agencies.

The 2012 Ewing Fellows are: Zach Lanier, political science and letters major, Edmond; Matthew Shandy, political science major, Norman; Nick Coffey, economics and letters major, Oklahoma City; and Eleanor Burg, political science major, San Antonio.