The Norman Transcript


October 15, 2011

Five OU educators inducted into state hall of fame

NORMAN — Five educators affiliated with the University of Oklahoma were inducted this week into the Oklahoma Higher Education Hall of Fame.

The 2011 inductees include Charles W. Bert III, David Morgan, David Swank and Daniel Wren from OU’s Norman campus and Joseph Ferretti of the OU Health Sciences Center.

The Oklahoma Higher Education Heritage Society sponsors the hall of fame that welcomed its first class in 1994.

Bert spent 41 years teaching in the College of Engineering and, on two occasions, directed its School of Aerospace and Mechanical Engineering for a combined 11 years. He retired from OU in 2004.

Morgan has been a professor emeritus of political science since his retirement in 2000. He held the Henry Bellmon Chair of Public Service at OU and he remains active in the local political scene.

Swank was a longtime law professor who arrived at OU in 1963 as its legal counsel and assistant professor. He went on to serve as professor, associate dean and dean of the College of Law, as OU interim president and was a longtime faculty representative to the NCAA.

Wren arrived at OU’s College of Business in 1973 and went on to hold several positions within the college. He became a David Ross Boyd professor emeritus in 2000 and served as interim dean in 2005-06.

Ferretti retired this year as senior vice president and provost of OU’s Health Sciences Center to return as a George Lynn Cross research professor in microbiology.

The campus’ budget nearly quadrupled to $800 million under Ferretti’s 16 years of leadership.

This year’s other hall of fame inductees are Donna Branson, Robert Miller, Karl Reid and Ronald Tyrl of Oklahoma State University; Stanley Hoig of the University of Central Oklahoma; John Kontogianes of Tulsa Community College; and Donnie Nero of Connors State College.

Through the Oklahoma Higher Education Hall of Fame, the Oklahoma Higher Education Heritage Society recognizes men and women, both living and deceased, who have excelled in higher education and who have encouraged others to contribute to the economic development and quality of life in Oklahoma.

The Oklahoma Higher Education Hall of Fame also presents awards of merit to corporations, philanthropists and other distinguished supporters of Oklahoma higher education.

More than 150 leaders have been inducted into the Oklahoma Higher Education Hall of Fame since 1994.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
  • Forum teaches community about culture

    As strangers sat casually at round tables, the conversations heard at each were difficult for those speaking, but attendees at the University of Oklahoma’s Teach-In on Race on Wednesday kept talking as they chose to educate, agitate, ...

    April 24, 2014

  • Water carry 5 Water Walk opens discussion about difficulties in obtaining safe H2O

    With large white plastic buckets upon their heads, two gallons of water sloshed to the brim and over the side, but the students trudged on down the South Oval. The farthest feat was to the Seed Sower, and as the sun glared down, heat ...

    April 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Contemporary Dance Oklahoma to perform at OU

    The University of Oklahoma University Theatre and School of Dance will present Contemporary Dance Oklahoma, a mixed program of new choreography, works from the CDO repertory and guest choreographer Jessica Lang’s “A Solo in Nine Parts.” ...

    April 23, 2014

  • Brad Burnett receives the 2014 Regents’ Award for Superior Staff

    Brad Burnett, University of Oklahoma associate vice president for enrollment and student financial services, has been selected as the 2014 Regents’ Award for Superior Staff on the OU Norman campus. In the nomination letter written by his ...

    April 23, 2014

  • OU College of Architecture explores new service learning opportunity in Zambia

    The University of Oklahoma College of Architecture is exploring new ways to help students gain unique experiences through study-abroad opportunities. To complement the successful Sooners in Rome program — a semester-long study in an ...

    April 22, 2014

  • OU Faculty Senate adopts resolution against guns on campus

    The University of Oklahoma Norman campus Faculty Senate recently approved a resolution opposing the presence of firearms on campus, other than those of duly authorized law enforcement officials.  The resolution states that faculty members ...

    April 22, 2014

  • OU no longer accepts AP Statistics for course

    The University of Oklahoma recently made a change in credit opportunities that may affect Norman Public Schools’ students who plan to take the Advanced Placement exam for statistics. The AP statistics exam will no longer be accepted as ...

    April 22, 2014

  • Five receive honorary degrees

    Four individuals will join University of Oklahoma Commencement speaker Wendy Kopp, CEO and co-founder of Teach For All, and Founder and chair of Teach For America, in being awarded honorary degrees at OU’s 2014 Commencement Ceremony, ...

    April 21, 2014

  • Sooner awarded Truman Scholarship

    A University of Oklahoma National Merit Scholar and Honors student has been selected as a recipient of the Truman Scholarship. Alexis Taitel won the prestigious award based on her leadership potential, intellectual ability and the ...

    April 21, 2014

  • OU interns to present entrepreneurial ventures

    After four months of hard work, some of the University of Oklahoma’s top student talent will present recommendations for its entrepreneurial projects to key stakeholders from the university and the Oklahoma City metro area at 6 p.m. on ...

    April 21, 2014