The Norman Transcript


April 21, 2013

OU Staff Senate awards

NORMAN — University of Oklahoma staff members who are retiring will be recognized and staff will be honored for outstanding performance at the Staff Senate Awards Ceremony Tuesday, April 23.

Staff Senate Chair Chris Cook will offer a welcome, followed by remarks from President David Boren. Clarke Stroud, president for Student Affairs and dean of students, will serve as master of ceremonies for the event. A light lunch will follow.

During the ceremony, retirees and staff with 10, 15, 20, 25, 30, 35 and 40 years of service will receive a lapel pin and certificate, and awards will be presented for outstanding, distinguished and superior service.

Below are the 2013 recipients of the Norman campus Staff Senate’s merit awards.

· Administrative Staff Council E. Neal Stone Superior Performance Award recipient: Linda Holt, Financial Services

· Hourly Employees Council Distinguished Performance Award recipients: Danny Feland, Environmental Systems, Pamela Hicks, National Scholars office, and Cecilia McEwen, College of Continuing Education

· HEC George Lynn Cross Superior Performance Award recipient: Gina Powell, Jeannine Rainbolt College of Education

* HEC Molly and David Boren Award for Excellence in Housekeeping recipient: Sharlene Lehman, Facilities Management

· HEC Distinguished Performance Award recipient: Hutch Fussell, Fitness and Recreation                                         · Organizational Staff Council Distinguished Performance Award recipients: Luis Salvatierra, Residence Life, and Fran Stephens, Office of Research Administration; OSC Katie Pursley Superior Performance Award recipient Larry Arthur, Internal Auditing

· Informational Staff Association Distinguished Performance Award recipients: Justin E. Davis, Information Technology, and Kristi Morgan, College of Arts and Sciences

· ISA Waintroob/Myers Superior Performance Award recipient Kam M. Stocks, Web Communications

· HEC Distinguished Performance Award recipients: Julie Hamburger, College of Arts and Sciences, Becky Steely, School of Meteorology, College of Atmospheric and Geographic Sciences, Brittany Elliott, University Collections Department, Floyd Lehman, Roads/Hauling

· HEC Distinguished Performance Award recipient Gregg Irvin, Lock Shop

· ISA Distinguished Performance Award recipient Karen Kelly, College of Engineering

 · OSC Distinguished Performance Award recipient: JoAnn Miller-Dudgeon, South Central Climate Science Center

For local news and more, subscribe to The Norman Transcript Smart Edition, or our print edition.

Text Only | Photo Reprints
  • Union Market 9 Union Market opens this fall on campus

    Shelves are being stocked as employees buzz around like busy bees and activities are in the last stages of prep as the University of Oklahoma anticipates the opening of its new eatery Union Market, located in the Oklahoma Memorial Union in ...

    July 26, 2014 1 Photo

  • OU physicist receives $1M grant

    A University of Oklahoma physicist has received a $1 million grant from the W.M. Keck Foundation to develop a quantum enhanced plasmonic sensor. The emerging field of physics known as quantum plasmonics will enable technology for sensing ...

    July 26, 2014

  • OU awarded Mellon Grant

    The University of Oklahoma has been awarded a $572,000 grant from the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation for the development of a digital library of Latin texts of all eras. The Digital Latin Library — a Linked Open Data resource — represents a ...

    July 26, 2014

  • Solar cars 7 Solar cars use Norman area during pit stop

    Flat, low to the ground with reflective panels and bright colors, these moving vehicles look more like cartoon spaceships than solar race cars. But these funny looking cars represent exactly what the American Solar Challenge (ASC) ...

    July 23, 2014 1 Photo

  • Digital storytelling workshop to help tornado victims

    Looking for ways to make use of the University of Oklahoma Writing Center’s services in the community, the center has developed the digital storytelling workshop “Survivors in Motion” to help last year’s tornadoes survivors....

    July 16, 2014

  • Free concert to feature Corey Smith

    Corey Smith, born and raised in Jefferson, Ga., will heat up the summer scene with a free concert at 8 p.m. on July 18 at the University of Oklahoma....

    July 11, 2014

  • OU showcases family treasures exhibit

    An exhibit consisting of 12 panels with the best practices on how to care for items — including textiles and recordings such as cassettes and family videos — is on display through July 10 in Beaird Lounge on the second floor of Oklahoma ...

    July 9, 2014

  • Sam Noble Museum awarded reaccreditation

    The American Alliance of Museums in Washington D.C. awarded the Sam Noble Oklahoma Museum of Natural History reaccreditation in 2014 for the fourth consecutive time. Accreditation offers a wide variety of benefits, including increased ...

    July 5, 2014

  • Emotional Brain set as July’s Neuro Night Forum topic

    Improving neurological health through education, research and access to care will be the topic of July’s Neuro Night forum at 6 p.m. July 15 at the Fountains at Canterbury, 1404 N.W. 122nd St. A light dinner will be served at 5:30 p.m....

    July 2, 2014

  • Foundation makes $500,000 gift in support of OU libraries

    University of Oklahoma President David L. Boren announced at the OU Board of Regents meeting that The Helmerich Foundation of Tulsa will make a $500,000 gift in support of the renovation of a floor in the Neustadt Wing of Bizzell Memorial ...

    June 25, 2014