The Norman Transcript

May 5, 2014

OU announces convocation, commencement ceremony schedules

Transcript Staff
The Norman Transcript

NORMAN — The University of Oklahoma has announced its individual college convocations and other end-of-year academic ceremonies.

Wendy Kopp, CEO and co-founder of Teach For All and founder and chair of Teach For America, will deliver OU’s university-wide Commencement address on Friday, May 9. Kopp also will receive an honorary degree at the 7 p.m. ceremony in The Gaylord Family — Oklahoma Memorial Stadium, 180 W. Brooks St.

Commencement is the ceremony where degrees are officially conferred. Filled with pageantry, it is the time for all 2013-14 graduates to celebrate the culmination of their time at OU. Doctoral degree candidates are recognized individually during this time.

At the college convocations, all other graduates will be recognized individually, have their pictures taken and their diplomas presented by their dean. Unless otherwise noted, all convocations will be held Saturday, May 10. Some events require tickets and/or have participation restrictions; for details and the most up-to-date information, visit ou.edu/content/commencement/convocations_receptions/spring_convocation.html.

· College of Allied Health Convocation

3:30 p.m., T. Howard McCasland Field House, 151 W. Brooks St. A reception will precede the ceremony at 1 p.m. in the Chesapeake Stadium Club, The Gaylord Family – Oklahoma Memorial Stadium, 180 W. Brooks St. For more information, contact Carol Clure at 271-6588 or carol-clure@ouhsc.edu or visit ah.ouhsc.edu/main/graduation.asp.

· College of Architecture Convocation

1:30 p.m., Paul F. Sharp Concert Hall, Catlett Music Center, 500 W. Boyd St. Reception immediately following, Buskuhl Gallery, 130 Gould Hall, 830 Van Vleet Oval. For more information, contact Laura Stone at 325-9481 or lauraanne@ou.edu.

· College of Arts and Sciences Convocation

10 a.m., Lloyd Noble Center, 2900 S. Jenkins Ave. For more information, contact Kristi Morgan at 325-2347 or kcain@ou.edu or visit cas.ou.edu/may-convocation-instructions.

· College of Atmospheric and Geographic Sciences Convocation

7 p.m., Paul F. Sharp Concert Hall, Catlett Music Center. Reception immediately following, Chesapeake Stadium Club The Gaylord Family – Oklahoma Memorial Stadium, 180 W. Brooks St. For more information, contact Mona Springfield at 325-1819 or mspringfield@ou.edu.

· Aviation Undergraduate Programs

Candidates will be recognized during the Michael F. Price College of Business Convocation listed below. Informal reception for Aviation Graduates and their guests to be held immediately prior, from 4 to 6:30 p.m., Max Westheimer Airport, 1700 Lexington St. For more information, contact Shelly Ainsworth at 325-7231 or sainsworth@ou.edu.

· Michael F. Price College of Business Convocation

7:30 p.m., Lloyd Noble Center. A reception will precede the ceremony ceremony from 2 to 4 p.m., Dodson Lounge, Michael F. Price Hall, 307 W. Brooks St. For more information, contact Taylor Heatly at 325-4386 or theatly@ou.edu.

· College of Dentistry Commencement

2 p.m., First United Methodist Church, 131 NW 4th St., Oklahoma City. For more information, contact Carla Lawson at 271-5444 or carla-lawson@ouhsc.edu.

· College of Dentistry Dental Hygiene Convocation

10 a.m., First United Methodist Church, Oklahoma City. Reception immediately following, First United Methodist Church. For more information, contact Kristy Jurko at 271-4435 or kristy-jurko@ouhsc.edu.

· Mewbourne College of Earth and Energy Convocation

10 a.m., T. Howard McCasland Field House. Reception immediately following, Molly Shi Boren Ballroom, Oklahoma Memorial Union, 900 Asp Ave. For more information, contact Liz Ehrhardt at 325-4005 or lehrhardt@ou.edu.

· Jeannine Rainbolt College of Education Convocation

6:30 p.m., T. Howard McCasland Field House. Reception immediately following, Collings Hall, 820 Van Vleet Oval. For more information, contact Christine Frank at 325-4844 or christine.frank@ou.edu.

· College of Engineering Convocation

1:30 p.m., Lloyd Noble Center. Reception immediately following, Chesapeake Courtside Club, Lloyd Noble Center. For more information, contact Cori Maag at 325-2621 or cmaag@ou.edu or visit ou.edu/coe/wssc/grad_convocation.html.

· Weitzenhoffer Family College of Fine Arts Convocation

10 a.m., Paul F. Sharp Concert Hall, Catlett Music Center. For more information, contact Jane Custar at 325-7370 or janecustar@ou.edu.

· College of International Studies Convocation

2 p.m., Donald W. Reynolds Performing Arts Center, 560 Parrington Oval. Reception immediately following, Molly Shi Boren Ballroom, Oklahoma Memorial Union. For more information, contact Tracy Holloway at 325-1429 or tracyholloway@ou.edu.

· Gaylord College of Journalism and Mass Communication Convocation

12:30 p.m., T. Howard McCasland Field House. Reception immediately following, Gaylord Hall, 395 W. Lindsey St. For more information, contact Arielle Hughes at 325-5684 or aehughes@ou.edu.

· College of Law Convocation

10:30 a.m., Civic Center Music Hall, 201 N. Walker, Oklahoma City. Reception from 4 to 6 p.m. Friday, May 9, Sneed Lounge, College of Law, 300 W. Timberdell Road. For more information, contact Kasey Hendrix at 325-2011 or kaseyhendrix@ou.edu.

· College of Liberal Studies Convocation

4 p.m., Paul F. Sharp Concert Hall, Catlett Music Center. For more information, contact Missy Mitchell at 325-2823 or mjmitchell@ou.edu or visit ou.edu/cls/convocation.html.

· College of Medicine Commencement

10 a.m., Saturday, May 31, Civic Center Music Hall, Oklahoma City. Reception immediately following, Civic Center Music Hall. For more information, contact James F. Albertson at 271-2316 or james-albertson@ouhsc.edu.

· College of Nursing Convocation

4:30 p.m., Lloyd Noble Center. For more information, contact Margaret A. Robinson at 271-2428, Ext. 49130 or margaret-a-robinson@ouhsc.edu or visit nursing.ouhsc.edu/current-students/graduation.cfm.

· College of Pharmacy Commencement

10 a.m., Saturday, June 7, Civic Center Music Hall, Oklahoma City. For more information, contact Darla Puckett at 271-6598 or darla-puckett@ouhsc.edu.

· College of Public Health Convocation

2 p.m., Meacham Auditorium, Oklahoma Memorial Union. Reception immediately following, Beaird Lounge, Oklahoma Memorial Union. For more information, contact Robin Howell at 271-2308 or robin-howell@ouhsc.edu.

· OU-Tulsa Convocation

7 p.m., Tuesday, May 6, Donald W. Reynolds Center at Tulsa University, 3208 E 8th St., Tulsa. For more information, contact Tracy Kennedy at (918) 660-3316 or tkennedy@ou.edu.

· Health Sciences Center Graduate Student Convocation

2 p.m., David L. Boren Student Union, Room 170, 1106 N. Stonewall Ave., Oklahoma City. Reception immediately following, David L. Boren Student Union, David L. Boren Lounge, Room 302. For more information, contact Karen Bentley at 271-2085 or karen-bentley@ouhsc.edu.

The following receptions and recognition ceremonies also are scheduled for this weekend:

· Advanced Programs Graduation Reception

3 p.m., Friday, May 9, Conference Room A, Thurman J. White Forum Building, 1704 Asp Ave. For more information, contact Joanne Braunbeck at 325-0133 or jbraunbeck@ou.edu.

· African American Academic Achievement Celebration

3:30 p.m., Friday, May 9, Donald W. Reynolds Performing Arts Center. Reception immediately following, Frontier Room, Oklahoma Memorial Union. For more information, contact Brandon Oldham at 325-3163 or oldham@ou.edu.

· American Indian Academic Achievement Celebration

3:30 p.m., Friday, May 9, Jim Thorpe Multicultural Center, 1620 Asp Ave. Reception immediately following, same location. For more information, contact Lindy Waters at 325-1468 or lwaters@ou.edu.

· Honors College Graduation Breakfast

8 a.m., Saturday, May 10, David L. Boren Hall, 1300 Asp Ave. For more information, contact Kelsey Lunsford at 325-5291 or klunsford@ou.edu.   

· Phi Beta Kappa Initiation

3 p.m., Friday, May 9, Meacham Auditorium, Oklahoma Memorial Union. Reception immediately following, Beaird Lounge, Oklahoma Memorial Union. For more information, contact Lynne Levy at 325-6702 or lhlevy@ou.edu.

· Student-Athlete Graduation Banquet

4 p.m., Friday, May 9, Chesapeake Stadium Club, The Gaylord Family – Oklahoma Memorial Stadium 180 W. Brooks St. For more information, contact Amber Demastus at 325-8265 or ademastus@ou.edu.

· Graduate College Reception

1 p.m., Friday, May 9, National Weather Center, 120 David L. Boren Blvd. For more information, contact Clay Wesley at 325-0797 or claywesley@ou.edu or visit gradweb.ou.edu.

· Air Force ROTC Commissioning Ceremony

9 a.m., Friday, May 9, Meacham Auditorium, Oklahoma Memorial Union. Reception immediately following, Frontier Room, Oklahoma Memorial Union. For more information, contactTori Lamoureux at 325-3211 or torilammy@ou.edu.

· Army ROTC Commissioning Ceremony

Noon, Friday, May 9, Meacham Auditorium, Oklahoma Memorial Union. For more information, contact Johnny Charqueno at 325-3012 or jcharqueno@ou.edu.

· Naval ROTC Commissioning Ceremony

10 a.m., Friday, May 9, Donald W. Reynolds Performing Arts Center. Reception immediately following. Fore more information, contact Julie Dahlgren at 325-2021 or jdahlgren@ou.edu.

Breaking news, severe weather alerts, AMBER alerts, sports scores from The Norman Transcript are available as text messages right to your phone or mobile device. You decide which type of alerts you want to receive. Find out more or to signup, click here.