The Norman Transcript

Photo Provided

University of Oklahoma Norman campus Vice Provost for Instruction and Student Success Mark Morvant (far left) and OU Foundation President and CEO Guy Patton (far right) congratulate Rita H. Lottinville Prize recipients (from left) Kaylee Kimbrough, Summer Anwar, Taylor Carmen and Bailey Looper. Fellow recipient Javier Chaves Camargo is studying abroad this semester and not pictured.

with photo

OU sophomores named Lottinville Scholars

Five University of Oklahoma sophomores were named recipients of the prestigious 2019 Rita H. Lottinville Prize. The students received their awards and were honored during a December luncheon hosted by OU Foundation President and CEO Guy L. Patton and OU Vice Provost for Instruction and Student Success Mark Morvant.

The five 2018 Lottinville winners were selected from 643 OU sophomores – believed to be the largest pool ever eligible for the prize – who maintained a 3.8 grade-point average or better their freshman year while taking a minimum of 12 credit hours per semester. This year’s recipients are Summer Anwar, Edmond; Taylor Carmen, Norman; Kaylee Kimbrough, Greenville, Texas; Bailey Looper, Midwest City; and Javier Chavez Camargo, Caracas, Venezuela.

The annual prizes, which include a $1,500 scholarship, were established in 1952 and endowed in 1982 by the late Savoie Lottinville in honor of his wife. A 30-year trustee of the OU Foundation, Lottinville was director emeritus of the OU Press and Regents’ Professor Emeritus of History.

A diverse faculty committee interviewed candidates for the prize, with selection based on Lottinville’s criteria of “moral force of character and the willingness to lead and help one’s fellows and stimulate qualities of truth, courage, devotion to duty, sympathy, kindliness, unselfishness and fellowship.” Applicants also submitted brief essays on topics set forth originally by Lottinville.

Lottinville, a 1929 OU journalism graduate, was editor of The Oklahoma Daily student newspaper, a member of the OU RUF/NEKS and elected to Phi Beta Kappa. He also was named a Rhodes Scholar and subsequently studied at Oxford University. In addition to directing the OU Press and serving on the history faculty, he authored five books, was an Oklahoma Hall of Fame inductee and recipient of the Distinguished Service Citation, then OU’s highest honor.

Single Parent Scholarship taking applications

The Oklahoma Single Parent Scholarship Program is accepting applications through Jan. 31. Single parents attending college in Oklahoma and Cleveland counties, including those at OU, may be eligible to apply for $1,000 scholarships that can be used for expenses such as childcare, transportation, rent or other necessities.

To learn more about the program and to apply, go to

ESA offering two scholarships

Epsilon Sigma Alpha is offering two scholarships.

The Outstanding Youth program is for eight grade student and high school seniors. Forms are available in schools' counselor's offices. The deadline to apply is Feb. 12. The scholarship recognizes students that go above their normal school activities. Last year's winners were Caitlin Mantooth of Wayne, Jade McCurdy of Purcell and Daniel Kno of Westmoore. They all received scholarship money fromt he local Epsilon Sigma Alpha Chapter in Norman.

Mantooth was also the first place winner on the state level and McCurdy was second.

The Outstanding Junior High award went to Dalton Haley from Curtis Inge Middle School in Noble.

A second scholarship is available to anyone in the community that would like to further their education, including high school and college students and teachers and paras interested in college, vocational technology centers or trade schools. This scholarship is through the ESA Foundation. Applications are available in school counselors' offices, public libraries and vocational technology centers.

For more information on Epsilon Sigma Alpha, go to or

— Submitted Content

Recommended for you