Transcript Staff

The first round in selecting the next Norman Public Schools Teacher was completed Monday as the district released the names of its 22 Site Teachers of the Year.

Each site winner will have an interview with Staff Development Committee in February. The teachers also must submit mini-portfolios including a "resume, philosophy of teaching, professional development training, community service and a 3-5 minute unedited video of their classroom instruction interacting with students." Finalists will be announced in February, with the Teacher of the Year named April 24 at the Celebration of Excellence banquet.

Educators considered for the honor are: Patty Quinn Thomason, Adams; Doug Bruton, Cleveland; Shannon Mashburn, Eisenhower; Sandra Dansby, Jackson; Jennifer Toperzer, Jefferson; Lisa Barthelme, Kennedy; Tracy Huntley, Lakeview; Tami Wade, Lincoln; Mary Neff, Madison; Jamie Johnson, McKinley; Yolanda Beckenhauer, Monroe; Natalie Devero, Roosevelt; Yvonne Chafin, Truman; Tammy Arce, Washington; Monica Carpenter, Wilson; Dana Shirk, Alternative Education; Debbie Bennett, Alcott; Melanie Wilkinson, Irving; Stacy Shaneyfelt, Longfellow; Billie Carlsen, Whittier, David Askey, Norman High School; and Joanne Klumpp, Norman North High School.

NPS Superintendent Dr. Joseph Siano offered his support for the program and the teachers selected to represent their schools.

"The Norman Public Schools have many excellent teachers, and these teachers certainly represent the quality of instruction that we have in our district," he said. "To be recognized by your peers is a wonderful tribute as a professional.

Trending Video